Select Page

The National Food Security Act, 2013 (NFSA) has been adopted by all the States/UTs, which provides benefits of food subsidy under two categories- (i) Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) and (ii) Priority households (PHH). There is no BPL category under NFSA. AAY Households are entitled to receive 35kg of foodgrains per household per month at the rate of Rs. 3/2/1 per kg for rice, wheat and coarse grains respectively and Priority Households are entitled to receive 5 kg of foodgrains per person per month at the same rate as above. Coverage under NFSA for receiving highly subsidized foodgrains has been delinked from poverty estimates. Hence, there is no separate BPL category under NFSA.

There was no reduction in the entitlement of foodgrains to beneficiaries under AAY and PHH category under NFSA during the last three years. There is no proposal under consideration to stop foodgrain items being currently provided under the provisions of National Food Security Act.

This information was given in a written reply by the Minister of State for Consumer Affairs, Food < Public Distribution, Shri. Danve Raosaheb Dadarao in Rajya Sabha today.