The press briefing planned at the Royal Institute in London on July 20 at 16:00 BEST (17:00 CEST) has been cancelled. Further discussions on the Mars exploration programme will take place in the context of the Ministerial in November 2022, where a full statement will be presented.


    ESA Council has mandated the Director General to terminate cooperation with Roscosmos on the ExoMars rover and surface platform. During ESA’s next Ministerial Council taking place in Paris in November 2022 all ESA Member States will discuss the way forward for the project.


    ESA and NASA are continuing to work to refine the architecture of the Mars Sample Return programme and agree on the next steps.

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Slovenia, Latvia and Lithuania are Associate Members.

ESA has established formal cooperation with six Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

Learn more about ESA at www.esa.int