Select Page

Presently, Ministry of Railways is implementing two Dedicated Freight Corridors namely, Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor from Ludhiana to Dankuni (1856 km.) and Western Dedicated Freight Corridor from Dadri to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (1504 km.). These corridors are targeted to be completed in phases by December 2021. In addition, Ministry of Railways has decided to undertake Detailed Project Reports (DPR) for new Dedicated Freight corridors on the following routes :

East Coast corridor- Kharagpur to Vijayawada
East-West Sub-corridor (i) – Bhusaval-Wardha-Nagpur-Rajkharswan-Kharagpur-Uluberia-Dankuni

East-West Sub-corridor (ii) – Rajkharswan-Kalipahari-Andal

North – South sub-corridor – Vijayawada- Nagpur-Itarsi

A Concession Agreement has been signed between Ministry of Railways (MOR) and Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL) on 28th February 2014 which inter alia enjoins DFCCIL to allow authorized Railway users including Indian Railways to run their own trains on the DFC network.