Hong Kong – Betting and Lotteries Commission invites public views on HKJC’s proposals of additional horse race betting activities

Betting and Lotteries Commission invites public views on HKJC’s proposals of additional horse race betting activities


The following is issued on behalf of the Betting and Lotteries Commission:

     The Betting and Lotteries Commission (BLC) today (July 28) invites, through its Secretariat in the Home and Youth Affairs Bureau (HYAB), members of the public to submit written representations on the proposals by the Hong Kong Jockey Club (HKJC) to increase the number of horse race betting activities.
     As regards horse race betting, the HKJC is currently allowed to conduct betting on no more than 88 local race days, 10 non-local races falling on local race days (known as simulcast races) and 37 simulcast occasions on non-local race days (known as simulcast days) every year. No betting on local races is allowed during the summer break from July 17 to August 31. As far as simulcast day is concerned, the number of non-local races per simulcast day should not be more than nine.  
     The HKJC has proposed to increase the maximum number of simulcast races per year from 10 to 25 and the maximum number of races per simulcast day from nine to 12. The HKJC is required to obtain prior approval of the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs (SHYA) before taking forward the proposals.
     Before making a recommendation to the SHYA on the above-mentioned matter in accordance with its function as stipulated in the Betting Duty Ordinance, the BLC would like to understand the views of members of the public. Members of the public may submit their views on the HKJC’s proposals to the Secretariat to the BLC by post (date of the stamp chop will be taken as the submission date), by fax or by email on or before August 28.
     For details of the HKJC’s proposals and the submission of written representations, please refer to the HYAB’s website (hyab.gov.hk/en/home/index.htm).

Hong Kong – Appointments to Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee

Appointments to Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee


     The Government announced today (August 27) the re-appointment of nine incumbent members, as well as the appointment of four new members, namely Ms Christina Gaw, Miss Kong Ka-wai, Miss Kwok Fu-yung and Miss Ngan Ming-sau, to the Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee (LFAC). Their appointments will take effect on September 1 for a term of two years.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, said, “The LFAC has been providing advice to the Government on applications for allocations from the Lotteries Fund and on charitable fund-raising issues including the allocation of flag days. The re-appointed and newly appointed members come from a diverse background. I look forward to their valuable advice on the work of the LFAC.”

     Dr Law also thanked the outgoing members, namely Miss Peggy Lee Pik-yee, Ms Gigi Tung Oi-lai and Ms Diana Wong, for their sterling contribution to the LFAC.

     The membership list of non-official members of the LFAC for the new term is as follows:

Professor Amy Chow Yin-man
Ms Christina Gaw
Miss Kong Ka-wai
Mr Kenneth Kwan Kin
Miss Kwok Fu-yung
Ms Josephine Lee Yuk-chi
Mr Gordon Lo Siu-chung
Mr Luk King-kwong
Ms Luk Yim-ling
Mr Webster Ng Kam-wah
Miss Ngan Ming-sau
Mr Tang Wing-chun
Dr Century Tsang Hin-kei