Appointment of Equal Opportunities Commission members


     The Government announced today (May 5) that the Chief Executive has appointed five new members and re-appointed nine incumbent members to the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) for a term of two years with effect from May 20, 2023.

The newly appointed members are:

Miss Lily Chow
Mr James Mathew Fong 
Mr Vishal Melwani
Miss Shirley To Shuk-yi
Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying

The reappointed members are:

Ms Chan Lai-kwan
Mr Vincent Cheng Wing-shun
Ms Choi Yi-tak
Dr Theresa Cunanan
Dr Henry Shie Wai-hung
Ms Anna Thompson
Ms Linda Tsang Chi-man
Dr Rizwan Ullah
Mr Gary Wong Chi-him

     “We are grateful for the contribution of all incumbent members to the work of the EOC in the past two years. They have displayed enthusiasm and commitment in assisting with the promotion of equal opportunities. They have also provided valuable input to the various areas of work of the EOC,” said a Government spokesperson.
     “The membership of the EOC continues to represent a balanced mix of expertise and sectors, including women; persons with disabilities; ethnic minorities; members from the employment, social services, legal, accounting, academic and education sectors; and the community at large. Their experience and expertise will be instrumental to the work of the EOC in promoting equal opportunities.
     “We would like to take the opportunity to thank Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan, Professor Andy Chiu Man-chung, Mr Mohan Datwani, Miss Maisy Ho Chiu-ha and Miss Yim Chor-pik, who will be stepping down from the EOC. We are grateful for their staunch support for the work of the Commission.
     “We look forward to the continuous concerted efforts of the Chairperson of the EOC as well as its members in constructing a pluralistic and inclusive society in Hong Kong,” the spokesperson added.