Actor, writer and comedian Aisling Bea, Film and TV Critic Amon Warmann, Filmmaker Edgar Wright and presenters Grant Tucker and Rhianna Dhillon announced as the Jury of the BAFTA’s nationwide search for individuals who have made a difference to their communities


Today, BAFTA has announced the jury of For The Love of Film competition. The industry experts will review a shortlist of submissions before selecting the winner, recognising individuals from across the country who have created a positive impact on their community through film.  

The jury is comprised of actor, writer and comedian Aisling Bea, Film and TV Critic Amon Warmann, Filmmaker Edgar Wright and presenters Grant Tucker and Rhianna Dhillon. BAFTA Film Committee member Anthony Andrews, the co-founder and Creative Director of We Are Parable, will chair the jury. 

Filmmaker Edgar Wright said: “As a filmmaker the excitement of having your work seen on the big screen amongst fellow film fans is irreplaceable. Celebrating the individuals who are passionately championing the cinema shared experience is something I’m delighted to be a part of and I’m looking forward to reviewing this year’s entries.”  

Entries for this year’s competition are now open at with the deadline for submissions Monday 14 February at 10:00am GMT.

The recipient chosen by the jury will get the opportunity to join BAFTA for a memorable evening at the UK’s biggest celebration of film. The prize includes an overnight stay at the iconic Savoy hotel in London, as well as professional hair and makeup ahead of the EE British Academy Film Awards on Sunday 13 March 2022.

BAFTA’s For The Love Of Film competition celebrates members of the public who bring their love of film to the nation! Communities have relied on local heroes more than ever over the course of the last two years and BAFTA and EE want to recognise those that have supported their neighbours and community through film. 

Previous ‘For the Love of Film’ competitions have honoured Janet Dunn and Martin Fol who fund and operate Liverpool’s Plaza Cinema, Lizzie Banks the producer of Oska Bright Film Festival, as well as Dan Ellis, Founder and Managing Director of Jam Jar Cinema and Iain MacColl, Senior Operator, Screen Machine. Find out more about previous winners here:    

The EE British Academy Film Awards take place on Sunday 13 March. The ceremony, celebrating the very best of British and international film talent, will be returning to London’s iconic Royal Albert Hall, and broadcast on BBC One, BBC One HD and BBC iPlayer. On the night, will feature red carpet highlights, photography and winner’s interviews, as well as dedicated coverage on its social channels @BAFTA.


Notes to editors:

Process for Entry: Explain in 500 words or less the reason they or their nominee should be recognised by BAFTA and what lengths they have gone to ‘For The Love of Film’ and upload a maximum of two supporting artefacts such; press cuttings, photographs, supporting statements etc. Submission form is hosted at 

Deadline for entries/ submissions Monday 14 February at 10:00am GMT.


BAFTA – the British Academy of Film and Television Arts – is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit BAFTA is a registered charity (no. 216726).